Wednesday Afternooon…

Last night was good. It was a small crowd at Meto (First Baptist Church – Columbia). It was great meeting new people. I am looking forward to going next month. Today I am not sure what I will do besides go to Wal-Mart. I was going to work on some writing and maybe I will still do that sometime today. I suppose some clarity is needed for one of my blogs. When I wrote of the preaching of hate at Green Hill Baptist Church I was not thinking of Alan Adams, but I was thinking of others. It seems that for someone to write me such a long message that there must be some conviction there. I know that when I am convicted about something that it is not always easy. You do not have to go to a school to be a preacher, all you need to do is preach. It is best if you preach the Gospel and not hate. The body is not perfect but to sit aside and not attempt to change is not the way to go. When you are sick don’t you do something about it? The only problem is that I am not the one that can do anything about the many issues at Green Hill Baptist Church. No one would listen to me, I mean unless I write it on here, and no one would care what I have to say. Try not attacking me and try doing something to make a difference. The church as a whole, worldwide, needs so much prayer. Prayer that we do not get consumed by greed. Do not just sit there when someone preaches hate, especially if it is in a public place like a church. Do not stand up for those that preach hate. They are filled with all unrighteousness, evil, greed, and wickedness. They are full of envy, murder, quarrels, deceit, and malice. They are gossips, 30 slanderers, God-haters, arrogant, proud, boastful, inventors of evil, disobedient to parents, 31 undiscerning, untrustworthy, unloving, and unmerciful. 32 Although they know full well God’s just sentence—that those who practice such things deserve to die —they not only do them, but even applaud others who practice them. Romans 1:29-32 (HCSB) But now I am writing you not to associate with anyone who claims to be a believer who is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or verbally abusive, a drunkard or a swindler. Do not even eat with such a person. 12 For what ⌊business⌋ is it of mine to judge outsiders? Don’t you judge those who are inside? 13 But God judges outsiders. Put away the evil person from among yourselves. 1 Cor 5:11-13 (HCSB) “You have heard that it was said, Love your neighbor and hate your enemy. 44 But I tell you, love your enemies[62] and pray for those who persecute you, 45 so that you may be sons of your Father in heaven. For He causes His sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 46 For if you love those who love you, what reward will you have? Don’t even the tax collectors do the same? 47 And if you greet only your brothers, what are you doing out of the ordinary? Don’t even the Gentiles do the same? 48 Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect. Matt 5:43-48 (HCSB) If we, Christians could just remember that we are no better than anyone else and that Christ came and died then maybe we could impact lives. If we set an example for those without by how we live our lives and not by us trying to tell them how to live their lives. Shall we continue to practice sin? Shall we preach that God hates people? God hates sin, but who has not sinned? And who is free of sin? If we say that we are without sin then we are liars. The church as a whole needs change and maybe it will happen but not if we do not allow God to use us to make these changes. I so pray that you will believe what I believe but I do not believe forcing anyone to believe what I believe is the right approach. I am speaking in general terms and I am convicted that if I do not live my life according to the Word of God how can I expect any better from anyone else. I do not want to limit my observations to one building. When I mention preaching hate I am also reminded of the wider picture. The preaching of hate is all over the place, but I had to use the example that made me write it. It was a week ago tonight that I find myself reminding someone that God loved the world so much that He sent Christ to die for the world. Therefore, just as sin entered the world through one man, and death through sin, in this way death spread to all men, because all sinned. 13 In fact, sin was in the world before the law, but sin is not charged to a person’s account when there is no law. 14 Nevertheless, death reigned from Adam to Moses, even over those who did not sin in the likeness of Adam’s transgression. He is a prototype of the Coming One. 15 But the gift is not like the trespass. For if by the one man’s trespass the many died, how much more have the grace of God and the gift overflowed to the many by the grace of the one man, Jesus Christ. 16 And the gift is not like the one man’s sin, because from one sin came the judgment, resulting in condemnation, but from many trespasses came the gift, resulting in justification. 17 Since by the one man’s trespass, death reigned through that one man, how much more will those who receive the overflow of grace and the gift of righteousness reign in life through the one man, Jesus Christ. 18 So then, as through one trespass there is condemnation for everyone, so also through one righteous act there is life-giving justification for everyone. 19 For just as through one man’s disobedience the many were made sinners, so also through the one man’s obedience the many will be made righteous. 20 The law came along to multiply the trespass. But where sin multiplied, grace multiplied even more 21 so that, just as sin reigned in death, so also grace will reign through righteousness, resulting in eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord. Romans 5:12-21 (HCSB)

Comments are closed.